DIY: Building the Foundation & Timber Frame

Sebastian Siemaszko
5 min readAug 20, 2023

--

Date: April 2022
Required Time: 7 Days
Required Tools:
- Shovel,
- 250mm Hand Drill,
- Masonry Cord,
- Water Level,
- Buckets,
- 2 Tonnes of Sand,
- 30 Bags of 25Kg Concrete C20,
- 18 Anchors
Human Resources: 1
Cost: $450

First, get some serious tools.
Now I know, there’s no way I could build without that DeWalt! 0 Chance!

Then tons of screws.

And Wood ❤

Some help from my new neighbors. ❤

And here’s my new home ❤ Just need to cut the wood and assemble it according to plan. Let’s see how it goes.

I’ve never done anything like this. But!
Since the first day, when that wood came, I fell in love with it.
It’s such a beautiful natural material.
Little did I know, how much I could do with it.

Find Juno ❤

That’s the way I protected the materials from atmosphere hazards throughout the construction.

And that’s where I slept for the duration of construction.

With my buddy ❤

Where there was once a grain crop field… Now is my first window.
Living in the high grass. Don’t miss the city even a tiny bit.

Find Juno ❤
And tell me.
Isn’t wood beautiful material?

Between night and day ❤

More in the next part :)

--

--